What are Mattress Zones? Part 2

9-zone mattresses

If a mattress is divided into 9 zones, it is usually the case that the first (head) and last (feet) zones of the mattress are divided again when this mattress is compared with a 7-zone mattress.

Nowadays, mattresses with 3 lying zones are hardly ever available. 5-zone mattresses and 7-zone mattresses are the most popular among multi-zone models. Mattresses with 9 zones, just like mattresses with 11 zones or even mattresses with 12 zones, are only available sporadically. The additional lying areas of the 11-zone and 12-zone mattresses result from a further subdivision of the body zones presented below.

Which mattress or lying areas are there and what are the special features?

Since the 7-zone mattresses are generally the most widespread, we limit ourselves in the detailed zone description to the lying areas that can be found in 7-zone models:

Mattresses Zone 1 – head and neck or cervical spine

The storage area for the head and neck is elastic and has a medium to high strength. Sufficient stability and load-bearing capacity are important in this zone so that the head does not sink deep into the mattress, but is supported in a stable manner. If the mattress were designed to be too flexible in this area, so that the head could sink into the mattress, this would throw the cervical spine out of shape and lead to overstretching of the neck muscles. With a correctly executed, matching zone 1 of the mattress, this is reliably prevented – as described – at the same time the surface is designed to be soft enough to provide adequate pressure relief and thus prevent painful tension.

Mattress zone 2 – shoulders

The lying area for the shoulders is the softest storage area of ​​the mattress. Due to its high softness, the sleeping pad is particularly pliable and allows the shoulder, shoulder blade and upper arm to sink in particularly deeply. Counterpressure is largely reduced or, ideally, completely prevented, whereby the sensitive shoulder area is protected from pressure points and circulatory disorders. Since the shoulder area of ​​the body is usually wider than the torso and waist, the deeper sinking of the shoulder and upper arm – especially when sleeping to the side – is important so that the spine remains in its natural shape and can thus regenerate itself optimally during sleep.

If you spend a lot of time sitting during the day, the back and thus the spine are curved and the muscles are shortened. If you then sleep on a good 5-zone mattress or 7-zone mattress with an optimal shoulder zone, this has the effect of a stretching bench for the body. Of course, without the pain usually associated with this “instrument of torture”.

Mattress zone 3 – lumbar spine / lumbar support

Zone 3 in the ergonomic mattress division in 7-zone mattresses is the storage area for the lumbar spine, which is also known as the lumbar support or lumbar zone. This area has a medium to high strength so that the lumbar spine receives stable support. It is important to support the sensitive lumbar vertebrae while lying down so that the spine is relieved and the blood circulation in the back is not disturbed.

Mattress zone 4 – hips / pelvis

The pelvis or hips are positioned in zone 4 of the 7-zone mattress or similarly in zone 3 of the 5-zone mattress. This part of the body is heavier, so some support is required. At the same time, the body with this large, heavy part must also be able to sink into the sleeping pad so that the spine remains in shape and the lumbar vertebrae and intervertebral discs are relieved. The hip joints should also be relieved of pressure. The pelvic area of ​​the mattress has a medium firmness for these purposes.

Mattresses Zone 5 – thighs

In its design, lying zone 5 of the 7-zone mattress is identical to zone 3 (lumbar vertebra zone). It is called the leg zone or thigh zone and is used to support the upper leg area. Their firmer design ensures that the two areas of the body with the greatest length (torso and legs) are stable and straight.

Mattress zone 6 – calves

With the 7-zone mattress, zone 6 or the calf zone is identical to the storage area for the shoulders (zone 2) and is therefore relatively soft. This is beneficial for the blood circulation in the lower leg area, as the veins are not constricted and thus relieved. This effectively prevents unpleasant leg cramps at night.

Mattresses Zone 7 – feet

Body zone 5 of the mattress with 7 zones corresponds in its design to zone 1 for the head and neck. Accordingly, it is characterized by greater strength so that the joints cannot twist or kink. At the same time, ankle, ankle and heel in zone 7 of the mattress are also positioned so that they are not exposed to any pressure in order to prevent pain (keyword: pressure relief).

Mattress zones simply explained 2

You may also like...